Becoming A DOT Medical Examiner


What is NRCME Certification?

The National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners (NRCME) is a Federal program that establishes requirements for healthcare professionals that perform physical qualification examinations and issue medical certificates for truck and bus drivers. To become a certified medical examiner (ME) and be listed on the National Registry, healthcare professionals must complete training that meets the core curriculum established by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA).

How Do I Get Certified to do DOT Physical Exams?

Becoming a certified medical examiner is easy. Just follow these steps:

1) Register and complete our training program to obtain your Certificate of Completion, which is required for your application to sit for the NRCME Certification Exam.

2) Create an account with the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners (NRCME) and obtain your 10-digit National Registry number.

3) Use your National Registry number to schedule and sit for the $79 certification exam. There are two FMCSA-approved testing organizations listed below. Find a location near you and schedule your exam. 

Testing Organization Websites:
PSI Exams

Be sure to bring the following items to the testing location:

A valid government issued picture ID
Valid medical license
TeamCME training certificate

After Passing the Certification Test:

You will receive a medical certification credential valid for 10 years and be listed on the National Registry as a certified medical examiner and can start performing exams.

Review the complete guide to NRCME Certificate by clicking on this link:  Complete Guide to NRCME Certification.

What is Included in the Training?

The TeamCME training program is the ONLY Course Created by a Member of the Original DOT Training Development Team!

It consists of 9 learning modules that take about 7 hours to complete. Our video lecture format is easy to follow and guides the clinician through performing a thorough driver history, physical exam, and determining driver fitness to operate a commercial motor vehicle.

A certificate of completion is available through your training portal upon completion of the course.

Training Includes:

  • 7 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, ANCC, or PACE Chiropractic CE credits upon program completion

  • Two 120 Question Practice Tests & Bonus Questions

  • Medical Examiner Handbook

  • Key Insights Into the NRCME Test

  • Expert Panel Recommendations for Cardiovascular Diseases

  • Opioids & Mental Health Conditions PowerPoint presentation

  • Bonus Video: Building Your DOT Medical Practice

Who Can Be a Medical Examiner and Perform DOT Physical Exams?

Eligible medical professionals include Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine, Doctors of Chiropractic, Advanced Practice Nurses, Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, Naturopathic Doctors, Doctors of Nursing Practice, Clinical Nurse Specialists, Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants. Acupuncturist in Florida; Doctor of Physical Therapy in Arkansas, Louisiana, North Dakota and Texas; Doctor of Oriental Medicine in New Mexico; and Registered Nurse in Colorado are all eligible to become certified Medical Examiners.

The above listed providers must meet the following criteria:

  • Possess a valid medical license, certificate or registration in the jurisdiction where they will perform these examinations

  • Complete our accredited NRCME training course and obtain a Certificate of Completion

  • Obtain a personal National Registry Number from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) by registering in the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

  • Register and pass the NRCME Certification Exam from an FMCSA-approved testing organization

How Long is NRCME Certification Good For?

Certified Medical Examiners (MEs) are certified for 10 years from the original certification date. During their ninth year of certification, they must take a recertification training and pass the National Registry certification test.

There is also a required 5-year periodic training which the FMCSA provides online at no cost. This is made available for free online through the medical examiners National Registry account. This must be completed during the fourth year of certification.

What Equipment is Needed to Perform DOT Physical Exams?

The following equipment is needed:

  • The ability to measure height and weight

  • A finger pulse oximeter

  • A stethoscope

  • 2-3 different sizes of blood pressure cuffs

  • A Snellen eye chart

  • An eye occluder

  • An ophthalmoscope and otoscope

  • A reflex hammer

  • Urinalysis supplies