TeamCME certified medical examiners
DOT Physicals | Healthcare Providers | Medical Examiners | Online Training

Becoming A Certified Medical Examiner | NRCME Certification Process

We understand how important it is for the transportation industry to have confident, well-trained Medical Examiners performing DOT physical exams for a CDL medical card. That is why we pride ourselves in providing the most comprehensive and up-to-date training available for those wanting to become Certified Medical Examiners.  Our mission is to connect as many drivers as possible with these Medical Examiners. To help get medical providers started, we have put together some information to act as a guide and answer some frequently asked questions about the process. 

Who is eligible to become a certified Medical Examiner?

Medical providers eligible to sit for the national exam to become a Certified Medical Examiner are Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine, Doctors of Chiropractic, Advanced Practice Nurses, Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, Naturopathic Doctors, Doctors of Nursing Practice, Clinical Nurse Specialists, Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants. Acupuncturist in Florida; Doctor of Physical Therapy in Arkansas, Louisiana, North Dakota and Texas; Doctor of Oriental Medicine in New Mexico; and Registered Nurse in Colorado are all eligible to become certified Medical Examiners.

What is the process to becoming a Certified Medical Examiner?

Candidates must first complete an accredited NRCME training course and obtain a Certificate of Completion (Find more information about this training here). The next step is obtain a personal 10-digit National Registry number from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) by registering in the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. After applying for registration, candidates receive a welcome email with their unique ID number. They can then use this ID number to schedule a time to take the NRCME certification test. The following organizations are currently offering the tests:

You can find additional information about the process on the FMCSA site

What is the NRCME test like?

The NRCME exam is 2 hours and contains 120 questions designed to test the candidates knowledge and understanding of the FMCSA rules and regulations concerning medical certification of drivers ( information that should be outlined during training). A score of at least 71% must be achieved. Prospective examiners who do not score at least a 71% may retake the test. However, there is a mandatory 30 day waiting period before rescheduling.  

How long is NRCME certification good for?

Certified Medical Examiners are certified for 10-years from the original certification date. The FMCSA will provide a required online 5-year refresher training at no cost. Medical Examiners are also required to retake the certification exam every 10 years.

TeamCME is available to answer questions and offer advice. Call us at (541) 276-6032.

Similar Posts